• 2019 NSPA Writer of the Year

The National Scholastic Press Association announced its 2019 national award winners in a variety of categories at the November convention in Washington, D.C. In October, I was selected as one of 10 finalists for Writer of the Year. In November, NSPA named me as the national first-place Writer of the Year within the Portfolio of the Year category.

  • 2019 NSPA Social Justice Reporting – Fifth Place

My piece “In the minority,” co-written with Jessica Moonjely, received fifth place in the National Scholastic Press Association’s Social Justice Reporting category.

  • 2019 IHSPA Writer of the Year

Each year, the Iowa High School Press Association chooses one student each for the Writer, Designer, Hawkeye Photographer, and Videographer of the Year awards. I was selected as the 2019 Writer of the Year based on five submitted pieces.

Crystal Kim (left) and Anjali Huynh (right) were chosen as the 2019 Designer of the Year and Writer of the Year, respectively.
  • 2019 IHSPA Spring Contests
    • First place In-Depth News
    • First place Feature Story
    • First place Multimedia News Story
    • Third place In-Depth News

These awards are presented by the Iowa High School Press Association recognizing high school journalism in numerous categories. See the full list of West Side Story awards here.

  • 2019 International Quill and Scroll award winner
    • In-Depth Reporting: Individual honorable mention
    • In-Depth Reporting: Team honorable mention
    • Editorial Writing honorable mention
  • 2019 Iowa Journalist of the Year Runner-Up

This website originally served as my entry for the JEA Journalist of the Year state contest. I received second place out of seven submitted portfolios.

  • 2018 Al Neuharth and Free Spirit Conference – Iowa Representative

Each year, 51 students from around the nation (one student from every state + the District of Columbia) are selected to attend an all-expenses-paid conference in Washington, D.C. and receive a $1,000 scholarship. I represented the state of Iowa.

29006203508_86a86b6e74_o 2
The 2018 class of Free Spirits gathers for a photo outside the White House on June 16, 2018. These students hail from across the nation and are recognized for their journalistic ability through attending an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C.
  • 2018 IHSPA Emerging Journalist
Screen Shot 2019-02-14 at 4.02.19 PM
  • 2018 NSPA Honor Roll

Students are honored for maintaining a minimum of a 3.5 cumulative GPA on a four-point scale and serving on their newspaper staff for at least two years.

  • 2018 Quill and Scroll International Honors Society

Students are recommended by their journalism supervisors for their superior work in journalism.

  • 2018 IHSPA Spring Contests
    • First Place In-Depth News
    • Honorable Mention Feature Story
    • Honorable Mention Multimedia Story – News

These awards are presented by the Iowa High School Press Association recognizing high school journalism in numerous categories.

  • 2018-19: Six time “Best of SNO” recipient

Articles from school newspaper using “SNO” based sites are selected and published on the “Best of SNO” website for being excellent pieces of writing.

  • 2017 IHSPA Conference On-The-Spot Photo Contest – 1st place
  • 2016 NSPA Conference Commentary write-off contest – Honorable mention